Department of Communication

The Department of Communication is housed within the College of Humanities and Social Sciences (CHSS) and currently serves approximately 400 undergraduate majors and 100 MA and PhD students.  

Our undergraduate program offers five concentrations in Public Relations, Journalism, Media Production & Criticism, Political Communication and Interpersonal & Organizational Communication.  Students earning a BA go on to successful careers at the local, national, and international level as well as pursuing graduate degrees.

Our graduate programs in Strategic Communication, Health Communication, and Science Communication allow students to pursue a Master's or PhD relevant to a wide range of professional fields.  

Upcoming Events

View All Upcoming Events

COMM by the Numbers


Undergraduate Concentrations


Undergraduate Minors


Graduate Programs


Graduates secure a job after graduating or are attending graduate school


Graduates had positions related to their career goals


Graduates took positions in COMM-related industries



Kimberly Meltzer Weisman, PhD

Associate Chair

Richard Craig, PhD

Undergraduate Program Director

Catherine Wright, PhD

Masters Program Director

Anne Nicotera, PhD

PhD Program Director

Chris Clarke, PhD