College Faculty Members Honored for Excellence in Teaching

On Monday, April 21, 2014, Mason’s faculty gathered to laud the teaching accomplishments of some of its members, as the Center for Teaching and Faculty Excellence (CTFE) hosted the 2014 Celebration of Teaching Excellence awards ceremony in the Center for the Arts.

This annual ceremony recognizes faculty members who embody the CTFE’s commitment to teaching excellence by demonstrating skill and commitment in a lasting contribution to the quality of teaching at the university. Awardees are nominated by their peers, by students, or by administrators, and are selected after careful review by the Center.

The college is proud to announce its award winners: 

Eric Anderson, of the Department of English, was selected as a Teaching Excellence Award Winner, with special recognition for excellence in general education.

Alan More, of the Bachelor of Individualized Study program, was recognized as an Adjunct Teaching Excellence Award Winner.

Amy Best, of the Department of Sociology and Anthropology, and Jeremy Hodgson, of the Department of Communication, were among those chosen as Teachers of Distinction.

“I’m delighted that the university has recognized the strength of our faculty’s commitment to quality teaching,” says Dean Deborah Boehm-Davis. “Continually improving the quality of our instruction is a key part of the college’s strategic plan. With faculty like those recognized above, we clearly will achieve our goals.”