The Insight Committee

The Insight Committee of the GMU Department of Communication was formed to build and enhance relationships between the department, the students and the larger community of practicing public relations and communication professionals. The committee also strives to maintain an ongoing dialogue that helps focus the department’s research and teaching efforts as a means of meeting and furthering the needs of the professional communication community.

The Insight Committee meets several times a year and appoints sub-committees from time-to-time to lead the development of specific programs that support its key missions. The annual GMU Student/Industry Communications Forum is one of these outreach programs, with others focusing on career enhancement and communication job fairs.

Future Events

Please save the date for the 2017 Annual Communication Forum.

It will be on October 24, 2017 from 8:45AM to 12:45PM in the HUB Ballroom (located on the Fairfax Mason campus).


Committee Members

Christopher R. Brewster

Stroock & Stroock & Lavan LLP


Christopher Colford

Communications Officer

External and Corporate Relations

World Bank Group


Carolyn M. Cuppernull, Chair

Director, Business Development

Inmarsat Government


Marie Dyak


The Entertainment Industries Council (EIC)


Patrick J. Fn'Piere


The Public Management Group, LLC


Tom Hoog, Immediate Past Chair

Hill & Knowlton Strategies, Inc.


Carl Botan, Faculty Liaison

Communication Department Faculty Member


Clay McConnell

Vice President

Communications Airbus Americas Inc.


Mark Root

Corporate Director, Media Relations

Northrop Grumman Corporation


Larry Rosenfeld 

Chief Executive Officer

SAGE Communications


Tara Ruszkowski

Founder & Principal

Ruszkowski and Assoc.


Danny Selnick

Senior Vice President

Strategic Markets


Arzu Tuncata Tarimcilar

Managing Partner of Impact, LLC

Shareholder and Board Member of Gama Holding


Chad Tragakis, Vice Chair

Vice President of Communications

Partnership for Public Service



Print Friendly and PDF